(lib)mpathpersist: use O_RDONLY file descriptors
authorMartin Wilck <mwilck@suse.com>
Mon, 8 Oct 2018 09:38:20 +0000 (11:38 +0200)
committerChristophe Varoqui <christophe.varoqui@opensvc.com>
Tue, 9 Oct 2018 11:35:35 +0000 (13:35 +0200)
udevd catches close-after-write inotify events and generates "change"
uvents for such devices, which may cause extra unnecessary and unwanted
udev activity.

Therefore use O_RDONLY file descriptors for PRIN and PROUT commands. This
works just as well as O_WRONLY. sg_persist has supported the --readonly option
for years.

Signed-off-by: Martin Wilck <mwilck@suse.com>
libmpathpersist/mpath_pr_ioctl.c
mpathpersist/main.c

index 8416a3b..a222b1e 100644 (file)
@@ -52,7 +52,7 @@ int prout_do_scsi_ioctl(char * dev, int rq_servact, int rq_scope,
        int fd = -1;
 
        snprintf(devname, FILE_NAME_SIZE, "/dev/%s",dev);
-       fd = open(devname, O_WRONLY);
+       fd = open(devname, O_RDONLY);
        if(fd < 0){
                condlog (1, "%s: unable to open device.", dev);
                return MPATH_PR_FILE_ERROR;
@@ -308,7 +308,7 @@ int prin_do_scsi_ioctl(char * dev, int rq_servact, struct prin_resp * resp, int
        {MPATH_PRIN_CMD, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0};
 
        snprintf(devname, FILE_NAME_SIZE, "/dev/%s",dev);
-       fd = open(devname, O_WRONLY);
+       fd = open(devname, O_RDONLY);
        if(fd < 0){
                condlog(0, "%s: Unable to open device ", dev);
                return MPATH_PR_FILE_ERROR;
index 0e4d3f2..10cba45 100644 (file)
@@ -384,7 +384,7 @@ int main (int argc, char * argv[])
        }
 
        /* open device */
-       if ((fd = open (device_name, O_WRONLY)) < 0)
+       if ((fd = open (device_name, O_RDONLY)) < 0)
        {
                fprintf (stderr, "%s: error opening file (rw) fd=%d\n",
                                device_name, fd);