ALUA support for PURE FlashArray
authorBrian Bunker <brian@purestorage.com>
Mon, 2 Mar 2020 14:53:54 +0000 (15:53 +0100)
committerChristophe Varoqui <christophe.varoqui@opensvc.com>
Mon, 2 Mar 2020 15:02:42 +0000 (16:02 +0100)
Hello all,

It has been some time since we updated our PURE FlashArray
configuration. The Linux vendors that we had been seeing in the field
were using very old versions of multipath-tools, so we haven’t needed to
change anything for some time. With the release of RHEL8, some of our
earlier values have been lost by upstream changes.

In addition we have our Active Cluster feature which leverages ALUA
since our last patch. The ALUA confguration will work for all
FlashArrays with or without Active Cluster.

We are changing 3 things.

1. ALUA support
2. Fast fail timeout from the default of 5 seconds to 10 seconds (We
   need this for our FC NPIV port migration).
3. Maximum sector size of 4MB. Some Linux vendors don’t honor the block
   limits VPD page of INQUIRY).

Thanks,
Brian

Cc: Christophe Varoqui <christophe.varoqui@opensvc.com>
Cc: DM-DEVEL ML <dm-devel@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Xose Vazquez Perez <xose.vazquez@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Brian Bunker <brian@purestorage.com>
libmultipath/hwtable.c

index dd6a17d..d1fcfdb 100644 (file)
@@ -1040,7 +1040,12 @@ static struct hwentry default_hw[] = {
                /* FlashArray */
                .vendor        = "PURE",
                .product       = "FlashArray",
-               .pgpolicy      = MULTIBUS,
+               .pgpolicy      = GROUP_BY_PRIO,
+               .pgfailback    = -FAILBACK_IMMEDIATE,
+               .hwhandler     = "1 alua",
+               .prio_name     = PRIO_ALUA,
+               .fast_io_fail  = 10,
+               .max_sectors_kb = 4096,
        },
        /*
         * Huawei