multipath-tools: add README.alua with instructions to enable ALUA
authorXose Vazquez Perez <xose.vazquez@gmail.com>
Tue, 21 Nov 2017 18:52:13 +0000 (19:52 +0100)
committerChristophe Varoqui <christophe.varoqui@opensvc.com>
Sat, 13 Jan 2018 08:53:03 +0000 (09:53 +0100)
ALUA is supported in some storage devices, but usually it's disabled by default.

Cc: NetApp RDAC team <ng-eseries-upstream-maintainers@netapp.com>
Cc: Christophe Varoqui <christophe.varoqui@opensvc.com>
Cc: device-mapper development <dm-devel@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Xose Vazquez Perez <xose.vazquez@gmail.com>
README.alua [new file with mode: 0644]

diff --git a/README.alua b/README.alua
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..e39debd
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,17 @@
+This is a rough guide, consult your storage device manufacturer documentation.
+
+ALUA is supported in some devices, but usually it's disabled by default.
+To enable ALUA, the following options should be changed:
+
+- EMC CLARiiON/VNX:
+   "Failover Mode" should be changed to "4".
+
+- HPE 3PAR:
+   "Host:" should be changed to "Generic-ALUA Persona 2 (UARepLun, SESLun, ALUA)".
+
+- Promise VTrak/Vess:
+   "LUN Affinity" and "ALUA" should be changed to "Enable", "Redundancy Type"
+   must be "Active-Active".
+
+- LSI/Engenio/NetApp RDAC class, as NetApp SANtricity E/EF Series and OEM arrays:
+   "Select operating system:" should be changed to "Linux DM-MP (Kernel 3.10 or later)".