Add multipath.conf force_sync option
authorBenjamin Marzinski <bmarzins@redhat.com>
Mon, 30 Jun 2014 05:14:03 +0000 (00:14 -0500)
committerChristophe Varoqui <christophe.varoqui@opensvc.com>
Thu, 24 Jul 2014 08:51:06 +0000 (10:51 +0200)
commitff1ca2ba4bb30fa294fa0e830903b6b9bf4d0bc5
tree9dd0583a9f1a2bf9403579071ad642edf8753942
parentebd4aab78567856d88b7c8ebc2c432739c906b06
Add multipath.conf force_sync option

Normally multipathd runs the path checkers asynchronously. However if there
are a lot of paths, this can cause large CPU spikes (for instance, in
cases where they are all competing for the Big Kernel Lock). In these
situations, overall machine performance is better if multipath doesn't have
hundreds or even thousands of path checkers running at the same time. This
patch lets users turn off the asynchronous mode of these checks if they
see this problem.

Signed-off-by: Benjamin Marzinski <bmarzins@redhat.com>
libmultipath/config.c
libmultipath/config.h
libmultipath/dict.c
libmultipath/discovery.c
multipath.conf.annotated
multipath/multipath.conf.5