multipathd: fix pp->initialized state ping-ponging
authorBenjamin Marzinski <bmarzins@redhat.com>
Wed, 13 Feb 2019 22:55:07 +0000 (16:55 -0600)
committerChristophe Varoqui <christophe.varoqui@opensvc.com>
Thu, 14 Feb 2019 17:53:10 +0000 (18:53 +0100)
commitcb0e8aa070b1f4670ec3995438feb22882a3bed8
tree981259dfdff5c05be8972aee450f17c12b2642eb
parent9ea30162c4815d225684c9d9529d4bd5f5fbbde7
multipathd: fix pp->initialized state ping-ponging

When a multipath device fails to get a wwid in pathinfo, it moves to the
INIT_MISSING_UDEV state. After a device in this state sends
retrigger_tries change uevents in check_path(), it moves to the
INIT_FAILED state.  However, when check_path() is run on a device in
INIT_FAILED, it can call pathinfo, which will set the path back
into INIT_MISSING_UDEV if it cannot get a wwid.  The next call to
check_path() will put the path back into INIT_FAILED.  The device will
continue to ping-pong between these states.

To solve this a new pp->initialized state has been added INIT_NEW.  New
path devices start in this state, instead of INIT_FAILED. INIT_NEW and
INIT_FAILED are treated exactly the same, with one exception. A device
in INIT_FAILED cannot transition back to INIT_MISSING_UDEV.

Reviewed-by: Martin Wilck <mwilck@suse.com>
Signed-off-by: Benjamin Marzinski <bmarzins@redhat.com>
libmultipath/discovery.c
libmultipath/structs.h
multipathd/main.c