kpartx/del-part-nodes.rules: new udev file
authorMartin Wilck <mwilck@suse.com>
Thu, 14 Sep 2017 20:00:09 +0000 (22:00 +0200)
committerChristophe Varoqui <christophe.varoqui@opensvc.com>
Wed, 20 Sep 2017 16:39:42 +0000 (18:39 +0200)
commita165dd9fb8fa2a713653ab91a3bc9ca44d574d9b
treedd7bfd37fd354bb13e1e56a33f191a4ca26f0b7e
parent20cd0df96068041a3b131ebee74efdad5df37e64
kpartx/del-part-nodes.rules: new udev file

A new udev rules file "68-del-part-nodes.rules" is introduced,
based on code from Ben Marzinki. This code deletes partitions on
multipath member devices. The purpose of this is to avoid users
accidentally accessing partitions of member devices rather than of the
multipath devcice. The deletion is done only once for every disk
device. If the user wants to get the partitions back, he can run "partx
-a" or "partprobe" on the disk device.

This code could be extended to wipe partitions on member devices
of non-multipath dm targets if desired.

Means to deactivate this behavior are provided via kernel parameter
"dont_del_part_nodes", or a custom udev rules file setting the
"DONT_DEL_PART_NODES" environment variable.

Signed-off-by: Martin Wilck <mwilck@suse.com>
kpartx/Makefile
kpartx/del-part-nodes.rules [new file with mode: 0644]