multipathd: Fix miscounting active paths
authorBenjamin Marzinski <bmarzins@redhat.com>
Sat, 30 Mar 2019 06:05:55 +0000 (01:05 -0500)
committerChristophe Varoqui <christophe.varoqui@opensvc.com>
Thu, 18 Apr 2019 11:03:32 +0000 (13:03 +0200)
commit9b715bf9653c87ef554688c6248e012998951171
treeac69f23da126dd55d7a5bf74a15c274b3f193e79
parent7d4b40faf3e637f5e5d4dea6340c1ced8586fb8b
multipathd: Fix miscounting active paths

When multipathd gets a change uevent, it calls pathinfo with DI_NOIO.
This sets the path state to the return value of path_offline(). If a
path is in the PATH_DOWN state but path_offline() returns PATH_UP, when
that path gets a change event, its state will get moved to PATH_UP
without either reinstating the path, or reloading the map.  The next
call to check_path() will move the path back to PATH_DOWN. Since
check_path() simply increments and decrements nr_active instead of
calculating it based on the actual number of active paths, nr_active
will get decremented a second time for this failed path, potentially
putting the multipath device into recovery mode.

This commit does two things to avoid this situation. It makes the
DI_NOIO flag only set pp->state in pathinfo() if DI_CHECKER is also set.
This isn't set in uev_update_path() to avoid changing the path state in
this case.  Also, to guard against pp->state getting changed in some
other code path without properly updating the map state, check_path()
now calls set_no_path_retry, which recalculates nr_active based on the
actual number of active paths, and makes sure that the queue_if_no_path
value in the features line is correct.

Reviewed-by: Martin Wilck <mwilck@suse.com>
Signed-off-by: Benjamin Marzinski <bmarzins@redhat.com>
libmultipath/discovery.c
multipath/main.c
multipathd/main.c