correctly set partition delimiter on rename
authorBenjamin Marzinski <bmarzins@redhat.com>
Sun, 8 Mar 2015 03:31:32 +0000 (21:31 -0600)
committerChristophe Varoqui <christophe.varoqui@opensvc.com>
Sun, 8 Mar 2015 09:25:52 +0000 (10:25 +0100)
commit95bf339bb9d739a55dfa5f0c61fe32a2b300755b
treec264eee708162b8a6e3ef111d68e80bfa27ec3bd
parent3b40d0d9f39fe32a203d000e88d0f60fe5796e62
correctly set partition delimiter on rename

When multipath renames a device and the name switches from ending in a
number to ending in a letter or vice versa, it currently just keeps any
existing delimiter between the device name and partition number.
However the default behaviour in kpartx is to only use the 'p' delimiter
when the name ends in a number. Unfortunately, without adding a
kpartx.conf that kpartx uses to set the delimiter behavior, there's no
way for multipath to know how kpartx was run for certain device names
(ones ending in a number with a 'p' delimiter).

The patch adds a new multipath.conf defaults parameter,
"partition_delimiter". If this value is not set, when multipath renames
a device, it will act just like the kpartx default does, only adding a
'p' to names ending in a number.  If this parameter is set, multipath
will act like kpartx does with the -p option is used, and always add
delimiter.

Signed-off-by: Benjamin Marzinski <bmarzins@redhat.com>
libmultipath/config.c
libmultipath/config.h
libmultipath/devmapper.c
libmultipath/dict.c