multipathd: don't flood system with sd_notify calls
authorMartin Wilck <mwilck@suse.com>
Mon, 28 Aug 2017 22:05:33 +0000 (00:05 +0200)
committerChristophe Varoqui <christophe.varoqui@opensvc.com>
Wed, 20 Sep 2017 12:38:00 +0000 (14:38 +0200)
commit88ddca5772f74a2e44c2d4fef947bc8fb7125c7b
tree82badf14f3d5d0c869ebdb28622d814a182dca72
parent0231ec20a448f999218719b240e761f7ae99ed4e
multipathd: don't flood system with sd_notify calls

DAEMON_RUNNING is only used by checkerloop to indicate that
path checkers are running. checkerloop switches back and forth
between DAEMON_IDLE and DAEMON_RUNNING in every iteration, i.e.
it performs two status changes per second on an idle system.
The repeated sd_notify() calls cause a lot of traffic on dbus as
systemd forwards these messages on the system bus. This can be
seen with systemd.log_level=debug. Better skip these notifications
that don't provide useful information to the user, who is very
unlikely to catch the daemon in "running" state anyway.

Signed-off-by: Martin Wilck <mwilck@suse.com>
multipathd/main.c