Read wwid from sysfs vpg_pg83 attribute
authorHannes Reinecke <hare@suse.de>
Tue, 22 Jul 2014 09:39:15 +0000 (11:39 +0200)
committerChristophe Varoqui <christophe.varoqui@opensvc.com>
Sun, 29 Mar 2015 16:19:39 +0000 (18:19 +0200)
commit18176202e75c766c15cde343c74caf43475a99ef
treef1846d267e068ce9dc327164807ecea1170c3ed4
parent51957eba8872a9687b42182530db3c231b040383
Read wwid from sysfs vpg_pg83 attribute

Using 'uid_attribute' per default has the problem that udev
might not be able to retrieve the device ID in time as the
device might be (temporarily) blocked.
It also has the problem that the 'ID_SERIAL' attribute is
not well defined and might have been overridden by other udev
rules.

As recent kernels have a 'vpd_pg83' sysfs attribute multipath
should be reading this one directly and extract the uid from there.
With that multipath does not need to do any I/O to generate the
device wwid, eliminating one common error cause during failover.

Signed-off-by: Hannes Reinecke <hare@suse.de>
libmultipath/discovery.c
libmultipath/sysfs.c
libmultipath/sysfs.h