multipath: add "ghost_delay" parameter
authorBenjamin Marzinski <bmarzins@redhat.com>
Thu, 7 Dec 2017 18:48:55 +0000 (12:48 -0600)
committerChristophe Varoqui <christophe.varoqui@opensvc.com>
Sat, 13 Jan 2018 09:11:51 +0000 (10:11 +0100)
commit0410de442b77a63ee3fab58f34076e8a33fdafc8
tree35a0ee8011e7c75aff0565842da68b4895515a65
parent83924318b419fa2ac25e3eb90a5eb59c9c467666
multipath: add "ghost_delay" parameter

If the lower-priority passive paths for a multipath device appear first,
IO can go to them and cause the hardware handler to activate them,
before the higher priority paths appear, causing the devices to
failback. Setting the "ghost_delay" parameter to a value greater than
0 can avoid this ping-ponging by causing udev to not mark the device as
Ready after its initial creation until either an active path appears,
or ghost_delay seconds have passed. Multipathd does this by setting
the MPATH_UDEV_NO_PATHS_FLAG.

Signed-off-by: Benjamin Marzinski <bmarzins@redhat.com>
12 files changed:
libmultipath/config.c
libmultipath/config.h
libmultipath/configure.c
libmultipath/defaults.h
libmultipath/devmapper.c
libmultipath/dict.c
libmultipath/hwtable.c
libmultipath/propsel.c
libmultipath/propsel.h
libmultipath/structs.h
multipath/multipath.conf.5
multipathd/main.c